Six High School Seniors Receive Award

— On Nov. 16, the Optimist Club of Greater Vienna presented six High School Seniors with the Carol Waite Brennan award for scholastic excellence. The following students each received a $1,000 scholarship to be paid directly to the college they choose to attend: Eamonn Carolan and Courtney Vereide from James Madison H.S., Peter Bryan and Maha Hassan from Marshall H.S. and Nicole Abdullah and William Hollingsworth from Oakton H.S.

President of the Vienna Optimists for the year 2000-2001 and co-founder with her husband Matt of the Ethics Day program for seniors at Marshall High School, Carol was diagnosed with ALS (Lou Gehrig's Disease and succumbed in December 2001, just months after her daughter Kelly was born). To honor Carole's service and memory, the club's Youth Appreciation scholarship awards were renamed in her honor in 2002.