DATA Recognizes Commitment to Mobility

DATA Recognizes Commitment to Mobility

On Thursday, May 17, the Dulles Area Transportation Association (DATA) held its 26th Anniversary Celebration and Awards Ceremony at the Hilton Washington Dulles Airport Hotel (13869 Park Center Road in Herndon) to recognize employers and individuals who are committed to improving mobility throughout the region.

The program included keynote remarks by Thelma Drake, Director, Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation, followed by recognition of companies and individuals who are taking significant steps to make a difference in sustaining the Dulles Corridor economy while safeguarding the environment through a commitment to improving mobility and accessibility management.

Those recognized include:

*Business Partner Award – Hyatt Dulles

*Partner Award – Organization – AAA Mid-Atlantic

*Partner Award – Business Professional – Robert Thomson – "Dr. Gridlock"

*Partner Award – Citizen – Jeff Parnes

*Transportation Professional Award– Valerie Pardo, VDOT

*Special Achievement Award – Nancy Gourley, Loudoun County

*Mobility Management Partner Award – Walter Daniel, Fairfax County Department of Transportation

*Team DATA Award – Transportation Security Administration (TSA)

Past recipients of this award include Congressman Frank Wolf, Hobie Mitchell, Jim Wilding, Leo Schefer, Randy Sutliff, Marie Travesky, Jim Bennett, John DeBell, and Del. Ken Plum, to name the most recent awardees.