School Notes for May 30

School Notes for May 30

Centreville High School senior Chung Ha Min (gold), senior Ashley Frongello (silver), and sophomore Min Kyong Hon (silver) earned medals at the 2012 National Scholastic Art Awards.

Davis & Elkins College student Rachel Hamm was inducted into The National Society of Leadership and Success on April 15 along with 42 other students. Hamm, an art major, is the daughter of Michael and Paula Hamm of Centreville. The 2012 class of inductees is the first group to be inducted into D&E's newly formed chapter which is designed to generate leadership skills in today's youth.

The Virginia Society of Certified Public Accountants (VSCPA) announces the winners of its 2012 Award of Achievement for academic excellence in accounting studies. Each year, the VSCPA recognizes top graduating accounting seniors from Virginia high schools, community colleges and four-year universities. Congratulations to the local winners:

  • Kelly Botten, Centreville, Westfield High School;

  • Emily Strait, Chantilly, Chantilly High School;

  • Michael Randall, Centreville, Lynchburg College.

Meredith R. Rigby of Clifton was one of 17 students inducted into Lambda Pi Eta at Susquehanna University this spring. Rigby is a sophomore majoring in communications with an emphasis in communications studies. She is a 2010 graduate of Centreville High School and the daughter of Susan and Peter Rigby. Lambda Pi Eta, founded in 1985 at the University of Arkansas, is the official national honor society for the National Communications Associations.

Fairfax County Public Schools middle and high school students won first place awards in 19 categories at the 2012 Virginia Technology Student Association (TSA) State Leadership Conference held in Richmond. Winners will advance to the National TSA Conference, scheduled for June 21-25 in Nashville.

First place winners at the middle school level (level I), with their category in parentheses, include:

Shawn Jassal of Franklin Middle School (Career Prep).

Navya Kalale and Sahana Ramani of Carson Middle School (Challenging Technology Issues).

Arvind Chava of Carson Middle School (Electrical Applications).

Arvind Chava, Sashank Thupukari, and Anant Tewari of Carson Middle School (Environmental Focus).

Pranay Singh, Dhruv Gupta, and Royhan Pandit of Carson Middle School (Inventions and Innovations).

Shawn Jassal of Franklin Middle School (Multimedia Production).

Dhruv Gupta of Carson Middle School (Prepared Speech).

Pavan Reddy and Josh Choe of Franklin Middle School (Structural Engineering).

FCPS students and schools also won the following awards:

Carson Middle School, first place, Chapter Excellence Level I; second place, Community Service Award Level I; second place, Arvid W. Van Dyke Outstanding School Award.

Arvind Chava of Carson Middle School, Most Competitive Technosophere Participant, Middle School Level.

Briana Neuberger of Chantilly High School, Virginia Career Education Foundation Scholarship.

Rocky Run Middle School is looking for World War II veterans and civilians to come to the school to share their eyewitness accounts at Rocky Run's 11th annual World War II Oral History Day (dubbed “The Latest Generation Meets the Greatest Generation”) on Thursday, June 7. Contact teacher Jamie Sawatzky at 703-802-7700 or if you or someone you know is interested in joining us for this special event.

Chantilly Academy is partnering with Northrop Grumman Information Systems to present the first CyberSecurity Camp, Aug. 6-10, at Chantilly High School. CyberSecurity Camp will be open to 60 Fairfax County Public School (FCPS) students in grades 9-12 and is open to both students who are beginners and students who have an intermediate knowledge of cybersecurity. Northrop Grumman employees who specialize in cybersecurity will teach computer forensics and cybersecurity fundamentals, and provide information on cybersecurity internships and careers. CyberSecurity Camp tuition is $150 and includes lunches and a camp T-shirt.