Mount Vernon School Notes

Mount Vernon School Notes

Mariya Ilyas graduated from Bowdoin College with a major in mathematics and a minor in government and legal studies.

Nathaniel Chester and Andrew Frazier were awarded bachelor of arts degrees from Connecticut College. Chester majored in biological sciences while Frazier majored in history.

Melat Habtemichael, Meron Habtemichael, and Edgardo Pleitez have been placed on the dean’s list for the spring 2013 semester at New River Community College.

Megan Elizabeth Epperson and Emily M. Kane both graduated from Clemson University. Epperson graduated Magna Cum Laude with a cachelor of arts in biological sciences, while Kane graduated with a Master of Education in counselor education.

Felix Boakye-Afriyie, Daniel I. Fritz, Jenna L. Tryon, and Alexandra B. Van den Berg made the dean’s list during the spring semester of the 2012-2013 academic year at Bucknell University.

The Mount Vernon-Lee Chamber of Commerce awarded nine scholarships to the following local graduating high school students: Nebiyou Melaku, Hayfield Secondary School; Jinhee Suzanne Lee, Mount Vernon High School; Joanna Morgan, West Potomac High School; Hellen Moffitt, West Potomac High School; Kyle Kilcoyne, Thomas A. Edison High School; Hillary Lebedun, South County High School; Karla Pajuelo, Bryant Alternative High School; and Kelly Mejia Posadas, Mount Vernon High School. The Jeff Todd Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Beatrice Asuua, Mount Vernon High School.

Luke Rabiej, Bishop Ireton High School (2009) and Hampden-Sydney graduate, earned AllODAC honors as announced by the league. Rabiej headlined Hampden-Sydney representation as senior reliever and First Team honoree and was named to the All-South Region Third Team as announced by

Cheryl Olechnowicz has been elected to the Iota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa Society at Gettysburg College. Olechnowicz is a member of the class of 2013.

The following students graduated from James Madison University: Wyatt Floyd, Kelsey Rybicki, Belinda Gorman, Marisa Cagnoli, James Orrigo, Trevor Meadows, Emily Rapavi, Michelle Heard, Devyani Shenoy, Megan Gibbs, Kimberly Collins, Anna Davis, Colleen Taylor, Alexander Jeter, Nikita Vahabzadeh, Rosemary Langowski, Ariel Lee, Adrianna Monteagudo, Kelly Bragg, Jonathan Russell, Robert Cordell, Kyle Winter, Rebekka Laird, Grace Jeon, Rebecca Wilson, Zachary Neurohr, Anhela Ripley, Christopher Diachok, George Stevens, Shahana Islam, Courtney Peck, Varun George, Nessie Vanta, Erika Jones, Allison Emmons, Nicholas Cheek, Anthony Dwyer, Stacey Walker, Robert Harmon, Sean Crook, Gabriel Fitzgerald, Elizabeth Badley, Renzo Renteria, Yulhea Kim, Priyen Patel, Robert Livengood, Devin Matthews, and Derek Cobren.

The following students made the president's list at James Madison University for the spring 2013 semester: Amanda Devoto, Stacey Diapoulis, Brandon Eskridge, Julia Fiorio, Victoria Foster, Evan Grice, Joan Hadeed, Jennifer Jewell, Devan Maddox, Aneta Nikolic, Courtney Peck, Meredith Pilcher, Caitrin Rhoads, Marisa Seitz, Nicole Weinard, and Rebecca Wilson

Fiona L. Carroll was named to the dean's list for the spring 2013 semester at Stonehill College.

The following students graduated from Villanova University: Colleen Lineweaver, who earned a bachelor of arts; Maria Bowman, who earned a bachelor of arts; and Aaron Jumani who earned a bachelor of science in accountancy.

Dipesh Khanal has been named to the dean's list at Quinnipiac University for the spring 2013 semester.

Jasmine Brown, Miranda Jones, Nyarika Penick, Caleb Williams, and Chiquera Cureton have been admitted to Saint Augustine's University for the fall semester.

John Baroncelli, a political science major in the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, earned one of the very first Science, Technology and Law minors offered through the College of Science.

A pair of faculty members from Dundee College in Scotland will visit Northern Virginia Community College’s Alexandria Campus from June 17-22. John Hayes, a senior lecturer in history and political science, and Simon Hewitt, curriculum manager of the computing and creative media department, will participate in various activities including touring NOVA, the Washington, D.C. region and visiting the Gettysburg National Military Park. Hayes will discuss how the Kingdom of England and the Kingdom of Scotland united to create a single, united kingdom called Great Britain with a lecture titled “Bought and Sold for English Gold: The Act of Union 1707.”

Kimberly Padgett was named to the Upper Iowa University 2013 spring dean's list

Simone Liu was honored as one of the brightest young students in the nation at a statewide awards ceremony for academically advanced children sponsored by The Johns Hopkins University Center for Talented Youth.

Hanna Haghayeghi received a bachelor of arts in French and psychology during the May 2013 SMU Commencement ceremony.

Thomas Weaver graduated with a degree in classics from Colorado College.

Catherine D. Kahl graduated from Colby College receiving a bachelor of arts degree at the College's bicentennial-year commencement in Waterville, Maine.

The University of Mary Washington has announced its Dean's List for the spring semester of the 2012-13 academic year. Jessica C. Bittner, Dafna A. Bliss, Lauren A. Floyd, Matthew R. Ganskopp, Christine, M. Hachem, David W. Heller, Clair Y.S. Maher, Paola A. Maldonado-Torres, Juliet A. Narine, Gabrielle M. Nguyen, Jonathan C. Polson, Emma K. Stotz, and Carolyn Trieu.

Kristina Cruz has earned High Honors for the spring semester of the 2012-2013 academic year at the University of New Hampshire.

The following students made the dean's list at James Madison University for the spring 2013 semester: Marian Ansley, Morgan Carter, Mackenzie Cate, Danielle Comer, Kerianne Condon, Mathew Cunningham, Allison Emmons, Kristen Fannon, Megan Gibbs, Elizabeth Harrell, Michael Higgins, Bryan Jacobs, Heidi Jenkins, Alexander Jeter, Erika Jones, Deborah Kamara, Rebecca Keegan, Yulhea Kim, John Knetemann, Eldar Loncarevic, Christine Macey, Devin Matthews, Kokougan Mensah-Etsi, Laura Mertins, Elizabeth Nowak, Yaw Owusu, Julia Pei, John Pfister, Elizabeth Schaefermeier, Dorothy Shufflebarger, Savannah Smith,Richelle Villa, and Cara Yaworske.

Amanda Cain and John McMurray graduated from Wake Forest University on May 20.

Samantha Bissell graduated from Lawrence Technological University and was awarded a master of business administration.

Scott Dielman earned a bachelor of arts in history and political science from Davis & Elkins College.

Nathaniel Chester and Julia Larsen have been named to the dean’s honors list at Connecticut College.

Isaiah Carpenter graduated from Union College on Sunday, June 16 with a bachelor of arts degree in English.

Sara L. Woodruff graduated from the University of Rhode Island with a bachelor of arts in writing and rhetoric and a minor in animal and veterinary science

The following students have been named to the spring semester dean’s list at Radford University: Emily Sohyoung Besse, Lauren Jennette Ebberts, Kelsey Jean Lawhead, Anne Marie Warren, Kestra Noel Aardema, Elizabeth Lynn Anderson, Kennise J. Baker, Kieran Michael Blakemore, Priscilla Boaheng, Alexander Gabriel Bring,Stephanie Carolyn Cockayne, Jacob Timothy Fannon,Sarah A. Gaunt,Julie Gosline, Aleze Sinclair Johnson-Knight, Shanice C. Jones, Ana Belen Karver, Jonathan Lee Krashevski, Samuel Robert Ludovici, Jacqueline Manu,Linnea Christine Markson, Delonte Rashaad McDaniel, Stephen Andrew McFarland, Ethan W. Morrison, Evan Kwon-Lee Scott, Ross Maxwell Taylor, and Chantell Nicole Williams.