Special Election Next Tuesday

Special Election Next Tuesday

A special election to fill the County Board seat vacated by Chris Zimmerman — his unexpired term will end Dec. 31, 2014 — will be held Tuesday, April 8. Polling place hours are 6 a.m. – 7 p.m.

The following candidates are on the ballot:

  • Alan E. Howze – Democrat

  • Stephen W.C. Holbrook – Independent

  • Janet H. Murphy – Independent Green Party

  • John E. Vihstadt – Independent.

According to the Virginia Public Access Project on Tuesday, Howze has raised $84,984 in campaign funds with $5,170 cash on hand and Vihstadt has raised $84,154 with $20,379 cash on hand.

The dollar amount raised is from Jan. 1 through March 28; cash on hand is as of March 28.

The two other candidates Holbrook Murphy have not raised or spent any money, according to VPAP.