StudySmart will present “Seeing, Hearing, Moving: Working with Your Child’s Learning Style” by Marjorie Kramer, M.Ed., on Thursday, Sept. 26, from 7-8 p.m., at Walt Whitman High School, 7100 Whittier Blvd., in Bethesda. The program will explain learning and teaching styles, and dispense practical tips for helping children work with their particular learning style. Parents will also gain insight on how to create a partnership with their child’s teacher. Cost for the program is $10. RSVP by Monday, Sept. 23 to 301-588-0607. Visit http://www.estudysmart. com.

Walt Whitman High School in Bethesda unveiled its Operant Conditioning Research Laboratory, called the “Rat Lab,” for its psychology classes on Thursday, Sept. 19. The lab is housed in the Whittier Woods Building, adjacent to the main school building on Whittier Boulevard, in a converted kitchen. The new lab provides more room for cages and experiments. Teacher Craig Gruber, who initiated the Rat Lab nine years ago, said other area high schools have also used the research lab. Call Gruber at 301-320-6600.

K.E.E.N. (Kids Enjoy Exercise Now) is looking for high school-age volunteers to serve as mentor athletes for youth with disabilities. Volunteers may earn Student Service Learning Credits. Sessions are normally held every other Sunday, from October through April, from 2-3:30 p.m., at Tilden Middle School in Rockville. Volunteers must provide their own transportation. Pick up applications from the Student Service Learning Coordinator at Montgomery County public high schools, at county community and recreation centers or public libraries. Send applications by Sept. 27 to Y.A.C.-K.E.E.N. Club, Department of Recreation, 12210 Bushey Drive, Silver Spring, MD 20902.

“Big Buddy, Little Buddy” is seeking mentors for homeless children. County high school students can earn Student Service Learning Credits while gaining experience working with young children, learning valuable life skills and helping the community. Each mentor must commit to a six-month term of service, provide their own transportation and schedule a three-hour visit each week with their mentee. The program will be held at Greentree Shelter in Bethesda. The deadline for applications is Sept. 27. Call Stephanie White at 240-777-6961.

Montgomery County has been awarded an $8.5 million federal grant that will further enhance homeland security.

Purchased with $21,954 in federal and state funds, 478 National Oceanic and Atmospheric Admini- stration (NOAA) weather radios are being distributed to every public and private elementary, middle and high school in the county.

Funding will also support:

* A unified emergency communications, operations and transportation management center; a new police command bus;

* A bomb squad vehicle and equipment;

* Epidemiology training;

* GIS computers for the Public Health Service to track emergency services data and school absences on a real-time basis for rapid detection of biological or chemical terrorism;

* An Integrated Justice Information System that will facilitate the exchange of important data about criminals and criminal activity between appropriate county, state and federal agencies;

* A tone and voice alert system for firefighters and emergency medical workers and a “blast fax” system that will alert physicians and nurses, hospitals, civic groups and other organizations;

* An upgraded phone system for the Crisis Center; and

* Security enhancements for Montgomery College, the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission and the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission.

Awards and


Bullis School announced area students who have achieved recognition as Maryland Distinguished Scholars program.

In the achievement status, senior Lindsay B. Janowitz from Potomac was recognized. Winning honorable mentions were seniors Bethany K. Lee and Kasel A. Lesak of Potomac.

Talent status was achieved by senior Jessalyn B. Maquire of Potomac, senior Christine M. Nolan of Bethesda and senior Anthony Holman of Rockville.

Holton-Arms School in Bethesda has also announced students who have achieved recognition as Maryland Distinguished Scholars.

In the talent category, Rukmini Girid-haradas was named a semifinalist for visual arts; Katie Johnson and Remmie Maden were named semifinalists in dance; and Emily Moulton received honorable mention in drama.

In the achievement category, Sheila Rustgi and Elise Shanbacker were named finalists; Christina Dahlman, Katie Johnson, Lisa Korn, Christina Norair and Jenn Scott were named semifinalists; and Rukmini Giridharadas and Tania Sherman received honorable mentions.

Finalists are offered an annual scholarship of $3,000 to attend a Maryland college or university.

Bethesda resident Kimberly Thorpe is one of the artists on display at St. Mary’s College’s Boyden Art Gallery, through Sept. 28. Thorpe graduated from St. Mary’s in 1994 and received the Young Emerging Artist Program Grant in 2002.

Potomac resident Jill Lubochinski participated in Syracuse University’s Public Communications program as part of the university’s six-week Summer College program for high school students.

The following area students will compete as semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship competition. Winners will be announced, April-July 2003.

From Winston Churchill High School: Alexander C. Fanaroff, Andrea L. Katz, Leslie A. Lee, Benjamin M. Sack, Emily E. Schulman, Laura C. Sillers, Julie A. Sorenson and Danielle D. Zilbertstein.

From Connelly School of the Holy Child: Michele A. Crisafulli.

From the Heights School: Manuel J. Datiles and Charles T. Krohn.

From Walt Whiman High School: Kayla M. Armstrong, Caroline F. Barker, Jonathan A. Berlin, Lea M. Bornstein, Abraham M. Clayman, Michael F. Dinerstein, Neir Eshel, Laura C. Frank, Aaron E. Galvin, Caitlin C. Horn, George Kim, Elizabeth B. Klein, Katherine T. Kunin, Morgan E. Palmer, Anushka M. Sunder, Sebastien H. Tilmans, Jeffrey M. Workman, Hao Wu, and David H. Yoo.

From Holton-Arms School: Catherine E. Cushenberry, Christina Dahlman, Amy S. Goodwin, Katherine A. Jones, Laura A. Kirkpatrick, Lisa L. Korn, Arielle R. Pankowski, Alexandra M. Romero, Sheila D. Rustgi, Jennifer K. Scott, Elizabeth E. Shanbacker, Elizabeth A. Shaw and Abigail R. Smith.

From the Landon School: Eugene G. Gokhvat and Raleigh L. Martin.

From Stone Ridge Country Day School of the Sacred Heart: Michelle S. Duplinsky, Heather L. Greenwood, Mariana Meyer and Bethany F. Schraml.

Thomas Sprigg Wootton High School: Jeffrey Chang, Ruby Chen, Brian J. Cohen, Wei Gan, Krystal A. Gesterling, Shauna A. Gordon-McKeon, Priscilla H. Kim, Anna Lvovsky, Daniel T. Sank, Kevin P. Vaishnav and Daryna Yakusha.

Charles E. Smith Jewish Day School: Haskell A. Garon, Joshua E. Goldkind and Joel C. Sunshine.