The Governing of Potomac

The Governing of Potomac

Potomac is governed at the county and state levels. The county government consists of an elected nine-member County Council and an elected county executive.

Five of the councilmembers are elected from districts, with Potomac, Chevy Chase and Bethesda represented by District 1 Council member Roger Berliner (D). The other four members are elected at large, or by voters from the entire county. This is to ensure that Potomac residents are represented on County Council by five of the nine members: the District 1 member and four at-large members.

Councilmembers and the executive serve four-year terms, and the Council appoints a president and vice president who each serve a one-year term.

The Council meets as a whole on Tuesdays, with committee meetings throughout the week. Public hearings on proposed legislation usually take place on Tuesday and Thursday evenings at the Stella V. Werner Council Office Building, 100 Maryland Avenue, Rockville.

Council meetings, as well as news and analysis shows dealing with the issues raised, air on the County Cable Channel 6.


County Executive Isiah Leggett (D)



FAX: 240-777-2517

101 Monroe St., Second Floor

Rockville, MD 20850


Potomac is represented in County Council by the District 1 councilmember and four at-large members. Visit the council Web site at

Any correspondence sent to the Council president is shared with all other members of the Council. The current president is Michael Knapp (D-2). With very rare exceptions, all correspondence sent to any councilmember becomes part of the public record and is available for review by interested parties.

Contact information for individual council members is listed below. Written correspondence to the whole council or individual council members may be sent to:

Stella B. Werner Council Office Building, 100 Maryland Avenue Rockville, MD 20850.

Call 240-777-7900, fax to 240-777-7888 or e-mail Hearing-impaired citizens may call the TTY line at 240-777-7914.

The County Council is a public body subject to local and state sunshine laws. Unless otherwise noted, all meetings are open to the public. Closed sessions are allowed in certain prescribed circumstances, such as to discuss personnel matters or government real estate acquisitions, or to receive advice from attorneys.

The Council offers free subscriptions to the weekly mailing of the Council and committee agendas by e-mail, and the cable television schedule of broadcasts of Council sessions. To get on the mailing list, call Legislative Information Services 240-777-7910 or e-mail the Council at

Roger Berliner (D-1)

District 1 includes Potomac, Bethesda and Chevy Chase.


Marc Elrich (D-At Large)


Nancy Floreen (D-At Large)


George Leventhal (D-At Large)


Duchy Trachtenberg (D-At Large)


Other councilmembers, representing districts outside of Potomac:

Michael Knapp (D-District 2 — Upcounty), Current Council President


Phil Andrews (D-District 3 — Gaithersburg, Rockville)


Donald Praisner (D-District 4 — Silver Spring, Eastern County)


Valerie Ervin (D-District 5 — Takoma Park, Wheaton)



The eight-member board is the county’s official educational policy-making body and is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system.

Although board members are divided into regions (Potomac falls in District 2) in order to ensure that there is representation from different geographical areas of the county, all members are elected at-large. There is one student member of the board who is elected by the middle- and high-school students of the county. The student member’s vote does not count in certain cases.

To contact the School Board, go to, call 301-279-3617 or fax 301-279-3860. The web site is updated regularly with Board of Education agendas, minutes, announcements, invitations for public comment on new policies and other information. E-mail for any Board of Education member should be sent to E-mail is shared with all members of the Board.

Nancy Navarro (District 5), current board president, second term expires 2010


Shirley Brandman (At Large), current board vice president, first term expires 2010


Judy Docca (District 1)


Term expires in 2010

Stephen Abrams (District 2)


Term expires in 2008

Patricia O’Neill (District 3)


Term expires 2010

Christopher S. Barclay (District 4)


Term expires in 2008

Sharon Cox (At Large)


Term expires 2008

Student Board Member: Term expires June 30, 2009

Quratul-Ann Malik



The state legislature convenes in Annapolis for 90-day sessions to consider and pass legislation. The session begins in early January and ends in early April. Potomac is represented by Districts 15 and 16. Maryland has a bicameral legislature with 141 delegates in the House and 47 senators in the Senate.

Elections for governor and all members of the General Assembly were held in 2006.

Executive Branch

Gov. Martin O’Malley (D), Lt. Gov. Anthony G. Brown (D)

100 State Circle

Annapolis, MD 21401



fax: 410-974-3275

Visit to send a message online.


District 15

Sen. Rob Garagiola (D)

James Senate Office Building, Room 104

11 Bladen St.

Annapolis, MD 21401


Del. Kathleen Dumais (D)

House Office Building, Room 350

6 Bladen St.

Annapolis, MD 21401


Del. Brian Feldman (D)

House Office Building, Room 223

6 Bladen St.

Annapolis, MD 21401


Del. Craig Rice (D)

House Office Building, Room 223

6 Bladen St.

Annapolis, MD 21401


District 16

Sen. Brian Frosh (D)

Miller Senate Office Building, 2 East Wing

11 Bladen St.

Annapolis, MD 21401


Del. William Bronrott (D)

House Office Building, Room 411

6 Bladen St.

Annapolis, MD 21401


Del. William Frick (D)

House Office Building, Room 217

6 Bladen St.

Annapolis, MD 21401


Del. Susan C. Lee (D)

House Office Building, Room 414

6 Bladen St.

Annapolis, MD 21401



House of Representatives

U.S. Rep. Chris Van Hollen (D-8)

The 8th Congressional district of Maryland covers about half of Montgomery County and a small part of Prince George’s County.

1707 Longworth House Office Building

Washington, DC 20515


fax: 202-225-0375

51 Monroe St., Suite 507

Rockville, MD 20850


fax: 301-424-5992

Visit to contact Van Hollen online.

U.S. Senate

Sen. Barbara A. Mikulski (D)


503 Hart Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510

Visit to contact Mikulski online.

Sen. Benjamin L. Cardin (D)


509 Hart Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510

Visit to contact Cardin online.