NVSL Swimming Report, July 16

NVSL Swimming Report, July 16

With their win on Saturday, July 12 <b>Riverside Gardens Tsunami</b> swim team is now 3 -1 in Division 10 of the NVSL by virtue of downing <b>Daventry</b>, 206.5-195.5. Tsunami swimmers turned in 15 first-place finishes, seven relay wins and two new team records.

First place finishers were, Audrey Alexander, Karley Zdebski, Ann Johnson, Elizabeth Dexter, Sean Heffernan, Alec Dubois, Erin Hendry, Carolyn Murphy, and Sean Sullivan. Double winners were Paul Dubois, Megan McCormick, and Madison Zdebski.

For the third time this season, Riverside’s Sean Heffernan, 17, broke his own team backstroke record with a time of 29.35. He also set a new team record in breaststroke with a time of 32.87.

In NVSL Division 11 action, the <b>Arlington Forest Tigers</b> improved their record to 2-2, defeating the <b>Truro Swordfish</b>, 225-176.

Double event winners for the Tigers were David Palmer, Christopher Palacios, Jake Huston, Georgia Allin and Bryn Edwards. Single event winners were Rebecca Palacios, Philip O’Doherty, Michelle Moriarty, Clayton Miller, Aaron Michalak, Kait Luncher, Adam Luncher, Jack Horton, Adrianna Gorsky, Zachary Allin and Matthew Allen.

The boys 8-and-under 25-meter breaststroke (Jack Horton, Matt Herrity and Ely Constantine) and Boys 15-18 50-meter butterfly (Clayton Miller, Willie Stehm and Matthew Allen) swept their events. Tiger relay teams claimed victory in nine out of 12 races to clinch the victory.

The Tigers also had an impressive showing at the Division 11 Relay Carnival held July 9, placing second out of six teams.

Earlier in the season, the <b>Arlington Forest Tigers</b> recorded their first victory of the year, defeating the <b>Rolling Hills Seahawks</b>, 224-178.

Double event winners for the Tigers were Carl Buergler, Bryn Edwards, Adrianna Gorsky, Jake Huston, Michelle Moriarty and David Palmer. Single event winners were Matthew Allen, Zoe Edwards, Clayton Miller, Eric Newton, Philip O’Doherty, Christopher Palacios, Elizabeth Palmer, Malin Serfis and Rebecca Wroblewski.

Elizabeth Palmer, Hannah Aiken and Clare O’Doherty swept the Girls 50-meter 15-18 backstroke, helping to clinch the Tiger victory.

The <b>Dominion Hills Warriors</b> recently won their first meet of the 2008 season in Division 8 beating Country Club Hills, 213-189.

The double winner highlights for Dominion Hills were Andrea Oaxaca (backstroke and butterfly), Abby Young (freestyle and backstroke), Sophia Moses (freestyle and butterfuly), James Hughes (freestyle and backstroke) and Eric Weiner (backstroke and butterfly). Single winners for the Warriors were Grayson Jazwick, Daniel McCreedy, Gwen Bobst, Anna Sophia Nix, Jacob Larsen, Kara Fox, Matthew Ellis, Nathan Hughes, Mikaela Kelley, David Hughes, Ava Oaxaca and Alex Brown.

The <b>Dominion Hills Warriors</b> lost to <b>Dowden Terrace</b> of Alexandria, 234-168, on July 5. The double winner for Dominion Hills was Andrea Oaxaca in back and fly. Single winners for the Warriors were Gwen Bobst, James Hughes, Nathan Hughes, Gregory Lemek, Anna Sophia Nix, Ava Oaxaca, Erinn Spack, and Abby Young.

Mia Landeck, Anna Sophia Nix, Charlotte Ellis andKatie Currle won the girls 8-and-under, free relay, while James Hughes, Matthew Ellis, David Hughes, Michael Fraser won the boys 11-12 medley relay.

Gwen Bobst, Sarah Sears, Ava Oaxaca, Emily Spack won the girls 11-12 medley. The 13-14 boys medley relay (Stephen Morrissey, Nathan Hughes, Thomas Dahlquist and Gregory Lemek) and girls (Abby Young, Mikaela Kelley, Claire Hurley and Devon Harkins) swept first-place honors.

In NVSL Division 11 action, the <b>Arlington Forest Tigers</b> recently lost a hard-fought battle to the <b>Camelot Knights</b>, 214-187. Double event winners for the Tigers were Georgia Allin, Philip O’Doherty, Jake Huston, Michelle Moriarty, Christopher Palacios and David Palmer. Single event winners were Zachary Allin, Keven Brewer, Jacob Campbell, Bryn Edwards and Rebecca Palacios.

The <b>Dominion Hills Warriors lost against <b>Fox Hunt</b> of Springfield, 208-184. The Dominion Hills double winners were James Hughes, Erinn Spack and Eric Weiner. Single winners for the Warriors were Maddy Berner, Matthew Ellis, David Hughes, Mikaela Kelley, Gregory Lemek, Daniel McCreedy, Anna Sophia Nix, Andrea Oaxaca, Mackenzie Ullom, and Abby Young. The 15-18 girls 200-meter medley relay of Maddy Berner, Haley Sanner, Andrea Oaxaca and Erinn Spack broke a pool record with the time of 2:16:41.

The <b>Arlington Knights of Columbus</b> swim team cruised to victory in its opening meet, winning every event en route to a 413-20 win over <b>Glen Cove</b>. With a roster of over 170 Arlington residents, including virtually all of its top swimmers from prior years, the Holy Mackerels look to improve on their 4-1 record in 2007.

Triple winners for AKC were Nicolas Reeves, Kathleen Butler, Charlie Beirne, Peter Samp, and Hilary Stetekluh. Stetekluh, a mainstay on Yorktown’s two-time state championship team, just missed team records in several events. Reeves, who already holds several team records, flirted with another in the 9-10 boys butterfly.

Double winners were Luke Smerchansky, Isabel Barnidge, India Seldin, Connor Hennessey-Niland, and Michelle Schmidt. Daniel Mullen, swimming in his first meet for the Holy Mackerels, recorded one of the fastest times in the entire Colonial Swimming League in winning the 8-and-under boys freestyle.

The <b>Dominion Hills Warriors</b> opened their 2008 season in Division 8 with a 207-194 loss to the <b>Parliament Panthers</b> in Springfield. The double winner highlights for Dominion Hills were Gwen Bobst and Alex Brown. Single winners for the Warriors were Daniel McCreedy, Gregory Lemek, Erinn Spack, Grayson Sanner, Abby Young, Patrick Morris, Mikaela Kelly, Eric Weiner, David Hughes, Nathan Hughes and Andrea Oaxaco.