Commission To Honor 10 Women

Commission To Honor 10 Women

— The Montgomery County Commission for Women will host a 40th anniversary celebration on Wednesday, July 11 from 6:30 to 9 p.m. at the Rockville Hilton Hotel, Atrium Room, 1750 Rockville Pike. To commemorate the anniversary, the CFW will announce 10 new honorees for the Montgomery County Women’s History Archives, created in 2002 to recognize the contributions of women of historical significance to the County.

Connie Morella, former U.S. representative and ambassador to the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development will deliver the keynote address. The first woman from Montgomery County elected to the U.S. Congress, Morella was one of the 30 women included in the Women’s History Archives Project for the 30-year anniversary celebration.

The Montgomery County Commission for Women is a 15-member advisory board established in 1972. The commissioners are appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by the County Council. The CFW is charged with the responsibility of advising the County Executive, County Council, the public and the agencies of the County, State and Federal governments on the issues of concern to women.

The biographies and photographs of the 10 women being honored this year will be featured on the CFW’s website. In 2002, a quilt was created by fiber artist, and then-CFW president, Anne Sanderoff Walker showcasing hand-quilted squares depicting the field in which each of the 30 honoree’s achievements were attained. To commemorate the 40th anniversary, Sanderoff Walker has created another quilt to recognize these 10 distinguished Montgomery Countians. Both quilts will be on permanent display at the CFW offices in the Rockville Memorial Library, and will “travel” for display at special events.

The 10 women being honored and added to the CFW’s History Archive are:

  • Sharon V. Burrell – In 2008, was the first African American female judge appointed to the Montgomery County Circuit Court and has since heard cases in juvenile, family and criminal courts.

  • Patricia E. Cornish – National President of Business and Professional Women USA, 2000-2001; chair of the Business and Professional Women (BPW) Foundation, 2003, 2004 and 2005; and named one of the Top 100 Maryland Women in 2006, 2008 and 2011. As president of BPW/USA, Cornish spearheaded a national survey and report entitled “Workingwomen Speak Out,” and implemented a nationwide program titled “WOMENomics.”

  • Jean B. Cryor – Maryland House of Delegates, 1995-2007; president-elect (2003-04) and president (2004-05) of the Executive Board of the Women Legislators of Maryland; strong advocate for school funding, the earned income tax credit for low-income workers and women’s rights.

  • Pam Foltz – first female career firefighter in Montgomery County; training instructor for new recruits; chosen to assist FEMA to fight wildfires; served the citizens of Montgomery County for 32 years.

  • Barbara J. Krumsiek – chair, president and CEO of Calvert Investments, Inc.; co-chair of the United Nations Environment Programme, Finance Initiative; recipient of the 2010 Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women’s Human Rights Award for her work toward the advancement of women in business.

  • Ingrid U. McKee – first woman to be named Police Officer of the Year in Montgomery County; first female criminal investigator; and first woman to be promoted above the rank of officer in the MCPD. She was instrumental in the first use of the “rape kit” and in the development of the county’s Crisis Center; also honored with the Columbian Medal of Merit for work as an undercover officer in breaking up a prostitution ring.

  • Terry A. O’Neill – feminist attorney, professor, social justice activist; president of the National Organization for Women (NOW); and chair of the NOW Political Action Committee.

  • Dr. DeRionne P. Pollard – first African American woman president of Montgomery College; recognized as one of “Washington’s 100 Most Powerful Women and 25 CEOs You Need to Know” from “The Gazette of Business and Politics.”

  • Carmen Delgado Votaw – co-chair of the National Advisory Committee for Women; former president of the Inter American Commission of Women of the Organization of American States; led the government relations operations of the Girl Scouts of the USA, United Way of America and the Alliance for Children and Families after having served as the first Hispanic woman chief of staff for a member of Congress in the U.S. House of Representatives.

  • Eun Yang – morning anchor on NBC Washington; host on NBC Washington Nonstop; and graduate of Paint Branch High School.

For more information on the Commission for Women, or to register for the celebration on July 11, call 240-777-8333 or visit