Theresa Ryland explains the story of the Colvin Run Schoolhouse, now the Colvin Run Community Hall, and the challenges people faced at the turn of the century, while Sean Beyer and Katherine Burke consider the implications for their properties. Beyer researched the history of Colvin Run Road and the Cockerill House, and Burke researched the Leigh House, now Dante’s Restaurant.
The Colvin Run Road we know today was originally the Alexandria-Leesburg Turnpike before it was re-routed to the Route 7 location in 1941. The road dates back to 1732 and is the only remaining portion of the roadbed engineered in 1834.
Colvin Run, Va. was the only existing crossroads village between Alexandria and Leesburg in the early days and was a prosperous and industrious community. Great Falls Historical Society’s summer interns will present their continuing research on Colvin Run Road, the Colvin Run community and related historic properties.
The goal of this project is to discover the historical significance of the road and the still-standing historical properties to determine if the area meets the criteria for nomination of a Historic District to the National Register of Historic Places.
The interns have conducted research at the Virginia Room of the Fairfax County Library and at the Fairfax County Courthouse to trace the origins of properties and the people who lived and worked in them so as to uncover the story of the area over 200 years.
The presentation will take place on Wednesday, Sept. 12, at 7 p.m. at the Great Falls Library Meeting Room.