Fairfax County Band Directors Recognize Solo Performers

The Fairfax County Band Directors Association has recognized 15 Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) students for excellence in solo instrumental music performance as part of the 2013 Fairfax County Band Directors Association Solo Competition. A total of 32 schools were represented; 50 students competed in the event.

The following students, with their instruments in parentheses, were named winners in the elementary school division:

  • First place: Kathryn Nei of Hunters Woods Elementary School for the Arts and Sciences (flute).

  • Second place: Diego Stine of Colvin Run Elementary School (tuba).

  • Third place: Kevin Mo of Floris Elementary School (clarinet).

  • Honorable mentions: Conrad Furlich of White Oaks Elementary School (euphonium); Martha Molinaro of Westlawn Elementary School (flute); and David Sawtelle of White Oaks Elementary School (trumpet).

Judges named the following winners in the middle school division:

  • First place: Gaby Pho of Poe Middle School (French horn).

  • Second place: Xander Day of Carson Middle School (flute).

  • Third place: Daniel Niemann of Frost Middle School (alto saxophone).

  • Honorable mentions: Andersen Broom of Longfellow Middle School (French horn) and Travis Jeong of Kilmer Middle School (alto saxophone).

The following students were named winners in the high school division:

  • First place: Go Eun Jeong of Madison High School (bassoon).

  • Second place: Tiberiu Baicoianu of Herndon High School (clarinet).

  • Third place: Michael Sgrecci of Annandale High School (French horn).

  • Honorable mention: Ethan Lowman of Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (oboe).

Judges were Andrew Loft, Tiffany Hitz, David Boltz, Mary Ulrey, Timothy Roberts and Keith Taylor.

The Fairfax County Band Directors Association is a collaborative learning team, professional and social organization made up of Fairfax County elementary, middle and high school band directors.