Association of Retirees Elects Officers

Dutzman honored for 15 years of service.


Carl Dutzman (APD Ret.), right, is presented a plaque by Ken Howard honoring his 15 years of service as treasurer of the Alexandria Retired Police, Fire and Sheriff's Association.

More than 70 members and guests joined Police Chief Earl Cook and Fire Chief Adam Thiel in attending the annual Alexandria Retired Police, Fire and Sheriff's Association holiday celebration Dec. 12, where the 2014 officers were sworn in for the coming year.

Held at the Holiday Inn on Eisenhower Avenue, Retired Chief Fire Marshal Michael Conner administered the oath office to Ken Howard, president (APD Ret.); Jane Malik, 1st vice president (AFD Ret.); Sandy Flynn, 2nd vice president (AFD Ret.); Monroe Bryant, treasurer (APD Ret.), and Patricia Miles, Secretary (APD Ret.). Longtime treasurer Carl Dutzman (APD Ret.) was presented a plaque recognizing his 15 years of service to the Association.