Girls on the Run Named FCPS Community Partner of the Year

Girls on the Run Named FCPS Community Partner of the Year

Program offered at more than 60 Fairfax County public schools last year.

Girls on the Run of NOVA (GOTR NOVA), a program aimed to inspire girls to be joyful, healthy, and confident, was awarded the 2018 FCPS Community Partner of the Year award. This award was presented to GOTR NOVA at the last week’s The Foundation for Fairfax County Public Schools 2nd Annual The State of Education Luncheon. The Foundation’s Community Partner of the Year award honors a non-profit community organization that has demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to Fairfax County Public Schools.

Last year, Girls on the Run of NOVA offered its program at more than 60 Fairfax County Public Schools, where 2,200 girls participated and 330 of them received financial aid directly from Girls on the Run of NOVA. GOTR NOVA envisions a world where every girl knows she has the ultimate power to be her best.

“This award is such an honor. We value our long-standing partnership with FCPS because they understand that Girls on the Run is so much more than just a running program. Together with FCPS we’ve been able to provide a space for girls to gain a better understanding of how powerful they are and what’s important to them, the value of teamwork and healthy relationships and how they can have a positive impact on the world,” says Katey Comerford, GOTR NOVA Executive Director.

GOTR NOVA is now preparing for their Spring 2019 season with teams forming throughout the region. Visit their website,, for more information on starting a team. GOTR NOVA works to engage the entire community to positively impact the health and well being of the girls of Northern Virginia, their families and communities, and the volunteer coaches who serve them. GOTR NOVA is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization serving more than 65,000 girls since 2000 and an Independent Council of Girls on the Run International, a network of more than 200 councils across 50 states and the District of Columbia.