0
Votes

NextStop Theatre to Present Two Holiday Shows

Kari Ginsburg in rehearsal of "The Twelve Days of Christmas."

Kari Ginsburg in rehearsal of "The Twelve Days of Christmas." Photo Courtesy of NextStop Theatre

Where and When

"Jacob Marley's Christmas Carol" and "The Twelve Days of Christmas" performed at NextStop Theatre at The Industrial Strength Theater, 269 Sunset Park Drive, Herndon. Tickets: $25-$27. For tickets call 866-811-4111 or visit www.nextstoptheat.... For general inquiries call (703) 481-5930

*"Jacob Marley's Christmas Carol" performances are: Tuesday, Dec. 3, 7:30 p.m., Thursday, Dec. 5, 7:30 p.m., Sat, Dec. 7, 8 p.m., Sun, Dec. 8, 2 p.m., Tues, Dec. 10, 7:30 p.m., Thurs, Dec. 12, 7:30 p.m., Sat Dec. 14, 8 p.m., Sun Dec. 15, 7 p.m., Wed, Dec. 18, 7:30 p.m., Sat, Dec. 21, 8 p.m., Sun, Dec. 22, 2 p.m., Fri, Dec. 27, 8 p.m., Sat, Dec. 28, 8 p.m. and Sun, Dec. 29, 7 p.m.

*"The Twelve Days of Christmas" performances are: Wed, Dec. 4, 7:30 p.m., Fri Dec. 6, 8 p.m., Sat, Dec. 7, 4 p.m., Sun Dec. 8, 7 p.m., Wed, Dec. 11, 7:30 p.m., Fri, Dec. 13, 8 p.m., Sat Dec. 14, 4 p.m., Sun Dec. 15, 2 p.m., Tues, Dec. 17, 7:30 p.m., Thurs, Dec. 19, 7:30 p.m., Sat Dec. 21, 12 p.m., Sat, Dec 21, 8 p.m., Sun Dec. 22, 7 p.m., Thurs, Dec. 26, 7:30 p.m., Sat, Dec. 28, 4 p.m.. Sun, Dec. 29, 2 p.m.

Herndon's NextStop Theatre is giving audiences two new Holiday theater treats. The two shows "have a tremendous amount of heart and can appeal to anyone who loves the holiday season. But they are also unique and original stories that have not been performed in this area," said Evan Hoffman, Artistic Director, NextStop Theatre.

The shows, "Jacob Marley's Christmas Carol" and "The Twelve Days of Christmas," are one-actor plays performing in rotating repertory during December.

"Jacob Marley" is a show with "a remarkably clever reimagining of one of the most recognizable stories in the world. Playwright, Tom Mula, has taken a classic and made it fresh and new by examining it through a different character's eyes," said Hoffman. "The Twelve Days of Christmas," by Ginna Hoben, is "one of the funniest and most heartfelt scripts I have ever read."

The directors and actors for the shows are Rob McQuay, director and Ray Ficca, actor for "Jacob Marley" and Abigail Isaac, director and Kari Ginsburg, actor for "The Twelve Days."

"We all know the classic tale of Ebenezer Scrooge and his miraculous redemption on Christmas Eve. But what about Jacob Marley, Scrooge’s departed, doomed, and chained business partner?" said McQuay, about "Jacob Marley's Christmas Carol." It is a "behind-the-scenes retelling of one of the most famous holiday stories of all time" from the perspective of Scrooge's business partner in the classic Dickens' tale.

"The Twelve Dates of Christmas" director Issac "was immediately drawn to the energetic and witty main character [Mary], I identified with a lot of the material...I think that relationships are even more poignant during the holidays, and this show juxtaposes dating woes with the holidays in a very relatable way."

"I am excited to be performing a show during the holidays that is about hope and redemption," said Ficca, who has been acting professionally nationwide for over twenty year. It is a great story to experience during the holiday, noted Ficca.

Ginsburg, with professional stage credits in many local theater companies, noted that her character Mary in "The 12 Dates of Christmas" is "genuine, vulnerable, sassy and very smart...She's also a little neurotic." The show is a tale about what might be "best" for Mary when her engagement falls apart after Thanksgiving and she spends the Holidays "alone."

Each show aims to give enjoyment as the NextStop Theatre provides unique new stocking stuffers to Dulles Corridor audiences.