Big Macs Win FPYC Championship

Big Macs Win FPYC Championship

SYA2 U 11 Boys (Big Macs) won a thrilling game against FPYC 1 in the FPYC All-Star Tournament played on Father's Day at Poplar Tree Park. The Big Macs breezed through the pool play defeating PWS1 2-0, then FPYC1 3-0. The team went into the final pool game with the knowledge that it had qualified for the finals and beat a classy Vienna Team 2-1.

The game started with SYA attacking the flanks and putting pressure on the FPYC team. SYA was rewarded in the 8th minute with a free kick just outside the goal area. Robert Min launched an excellent strike into the back of the net to make it 1-0. In the second half a quick throw from Abdoul Sanogo to Karan Suryakant with first time a pass for on rushing striker Brad Kondash to slot for a 2-0 lead. With a 2-0 cushion and 15 minutes left SYA was cruising.

FPYC got one back with a curling corner kick into the back of the net. Energized by this FPYC came storming back and a couple of minutes later another corner kick resulted in the equalizer. FPYC kept putting the pressure and breakaway goal gave them a 3-2 lead with 5 minutes left. With a sudden break Robert Min equalized with a sizzling shot and SYA was back in the game.

During overtime SYA pressed but couldn't finish so the game went to penalty kicks. SYA missed its first two kicks and FPYC slotted theirs in. SYA goalkeeper John Linglefelter made a couple of excellent saves. Finally we went to our sixth kicker and FPYC missed and Abdoul Sanogo slotted the winner.

Congratulations to the members of the SYA U 11 boys team for brining home the FPYC championship: Abdoul Sanogo, Brad Kondash, Christian Ventura, Daniel Coo, Dylan Krause, John Linglefelter, Karan Suryakant, Keya Ahmadi, Nick Nonemaker, Paul Henderson, Robert Min, Thomas Lazor, Tim Hutzenbiler and Xavier Maza.