Brief: Longfellow Middle, TJHSST Win Virginia Science Olympiad Titles

Brief: Longfellow Middle, TJHSST Win Virginia Science Olympiad Titles

Teams from Longfellow Middle School and Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (TJHSST) captured first place in Division B and Division C, respectively, in the 2013 Virginia Science Olympiad, held at Virginia Tech.

The Longfellow team is made up of students Will Baxley, Zuhayr Choudhury, Shannon Chu, Stephanie Do, Alex Fried, Eric Liu, Alvand Moini, Josh Mosier, Neeraj Prasad, Gerald Wu, Tim Wu, Sarah Zhou, Scott Becker, Nina Chung, Katherine Du, Alex Howe, John Krause-Steinrauf, Shreya Ramesh and Laith Samamreh. Susan Boomer coaches the Longfellow team.

Members of the TJHSST team are Amy Chen, Jake Cui, Ryan Gottwald, Sparsh Gupta, Katie Hsia, Ava Lakmazaheri, Avand Lakmazaheri, Jonathan Lee, Billie Males, Christine Nguyen, Emma, Puranen, Austin Ralls, Sunlee Stechuk, Sashank Thupukari and Andy Zhao. Alternates are Abha Agrawal, John Park, Tarun Punnoose and Gerry Wan. Aubrie Holman coaches the TJHSST team.

Other top finishers in Division B were the teams from Jackson Middle School (second place), Lake Braddock Secondary School—middle school team (third place), Kilmer Middle School (fourth place) and Louise Archer Elementary School (fifth place).

Top finishers in Division C include the teams from Langley High School (second place), Madison High School (third place), McLean High School (fourth place) and Fairfax High School (fifth place).

Members of the two winning teams will represent Virginia at the national tournament in Dayton, Ohio, May 17-18.